top of page

Paul McCartney, Don Henley, Katy Perry, More Pen Letter to SiriusXM: ‘We Will Boycott’ (EXCLUSIVE)

At issue: The satellite radio giant's opposition to a portion of the Music Modernization Act.

In an unprecedented show of solidarity, some 150 artists and executives, including Paul McCartney, Don Henley, Carole King, Katy Perry, U2’s The Edge, Pink, Sia and hitmaker Max Martin, have signed a letter addressed to the board members of Liberty Media, corporate parent to SiriusXM. At issue: The satellite radio giant’s opposition to Music Modernization Act, which is thisclose to passing in the Senate. Specifically: SiriusXM has raised objections to portions of the bill, which aims to protect recordings released before 1972 from falling out of copyright protection, including the exclusion of terrestrial radio from mandatory payouts to rights holders.

Says attorney Dina LaPolt, one of several advocates working on behalf of the MMA (as an attorney-advisor to SONA, or Songwriters of North America), in a statement to Variety: “As we continue to move from a product based business to a service based business, bringing the antiquated copyright act into the digital realm, SiriusXM’s unwillingness to support songwriters and artists is complete travesty given that every other group in the music industry has endorsed the bill. This shows their disgusting corporate greed at the expense of America’s greatest treasures..…. our legacy artists.”

Adds Ross Golan, songwriter and host of the popular podcast “And the Writer Is…”: “The music community is standing in solidarity like never before. In only 48 hours, 200 legends put their name on the line to show that we are not just music. We are an army. This letter is only a warning shot.”

The Music Modernization Act is scheduled to be “hotlined” today by the Senate — at which point any Senator has 24 hours in which to object to the bill passing out of the Senate without an official vote (Senate leadership does this for bills with high cosponsor counts that they know would sail through if a vote was forced or needed) — the legislation is facing one final hurdle in the form of objection by SiriusXM.

The letter, which was also signed by Carly Simon, Ryan Tedder, Charlie Puth, Gloria and Emilio Estefan as well as Stevie Nicks and Mick Fleetwood, Steven Tyler and Joe Perry, and members of The Doors and the Mamas and the Papas, is addressed to SiriusXM chairman of the board Greg Maffei, programming chief Scott Greenstein and CEO Jim Meyer along with the Liberty Media board members. The endorsement of so many top artists represents a credible threat to the business of SiriusXM’s music channels, particularly as it involves specialty programs — for instance, the Beatles channel, among the most popular of SiriusXM’s offerings.

The MMA bill was passed unanimously in the Senate Judiciary Committee in June following a unanimous approval of similar legislation by the House of Representatives a month earlier.

Read the letter to SiriusXM in its entirety below, and read SiriusXM’s response here:

Dear Greg Maffei, Scott Greenstein and Jim Meyer and Liberty Media Board of Directors Evan D. Malone, David E. Rapley, Larry E. Romrell, Brian M. Deevy, Andrea L. Wong, Robert R. Bennett, M. Ian G. Gilchrist and John C. Malone:

I’m writing you with grave concern about SiriusXM’s opposition to the Music Modernization Act (Classics Act included).

I’m CCing some of the greatest songwriters and artists in the history of the music business to show our solidarity in support of this legislation in its current form. We are all aware of your company’s objections and trepidation but let me say that this is an opportunity for SiriusXM to take a leadership position. As you are aware, 415 Representatives and 76 Senators have already cosponsored the MMA along with industry consensus.

It’s SiriusXM vs all of us. We can either fight to the bitter end or celebrate this victory together. Rather than watch bad press and ill will pile up against SiriusXM, why not come out supporting the most consequential music legislation in 109 years? We do not want to fight and boycott your company but we will as we have other opponents. Stand with us! Be brave and take credit for being the heroes who helped the MMA become historic law! Momentum is building against SiriusXM and you still have an opportunity to come out on the right side of history. We look forward to your endorsement but the fire is burning and only you can put this out.

Sincerely yours,

Ross Golan and Legends CC-ed Here


Sir Paul McCartney Don Henley Stevie Nicks Mick Fleetwood Steven Tyler Joe Perry Carole King Carly Simon Katy Perry P!nk OneRepublic: Ryan Tedder Sia John Legend Adam Dorn Adam Gorgoni Adam Levine Alessia Cara All-4-One Andrew Wyatt (Miike Snow band) Bebe Rexha Bird and The Bee: Inara George Carly Simon Carole King Charlie Puth Chris Isaak Colbie Caillat Dolly Parton Eddie Money Eurythmics: Dave Stewart Garbage: Shirley Manson Gloria & Emilio Estefan Grace VanderWaal Hootie & the Blowfish: Darius Rucker, Mark Bryan, Dean Felber and Jim Sonefeld James Taylor Jason Derulo JD Souther Jefferson Airplane: Grace Slick, Jorma Kaukonen, and Jack Casady Jesse Carmichael Jewel Kasim Sulton KC and The Sunshine Band: Harry Casey Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds Kevin Cronin Little Feet: Lowell George Estate Lori McKenna LP Melissa Manchester Mindi Abair Nelly Furtado Rascal Flatts: Gary LeVox Rusty Anderson Sean Lennon Semisonic: Dan Wilson Sonic Youth: Kim Gordon The Doors: John Densmore Robby Krieger The Fray The Mamas And The Papas: Michelle Phillips The Pixies: Joey Santiago The Pretenders: Chrissie Hynde Thomas Rhett Tom Higgenson: Plain White T’s Tom Waits Yeah Yeah Yeahs: Karen O and Nick Zinner


Ali Tamposi Allee Willis Ammar Malik Andre Lindal Andreas Carlsson Andrew Cedar Anne Preven Anthony Preston Antonia Armato Ashley Gorley Benny Blanco Bert Berns Billy Mann Billy Steinberg Bonnie McKee Bryan Michael-Cox Burt Bacharach Busbee Captain Cuts Charlie Handsome Claude Kelley Claudia Brant Cynthia Weil & Barry Man Dallas Davidson Damon Boot Damon Bunetta Damon Sharpe Danielle Brisebois Dave Bassett David Hodges David Simmons Desmond Child Diane Warren Doc Pomus Estate Emile Ghantous Erica Discoll Erika Ender Ester Dean Eve Nelson Greg Kurstin Greg Wells Harvey Mason Ian Kirkpatrick J Kash Jack Kugell James Newton Howard Jason Evigan Jay Landers Jayson Dezuzio Jeff Trott Jesse Shatkin John Ryan Jud Friedman Julian Bunetta Justin Tranter Kara DioGuardi Lauren Christy Linda Perry Lindy Robbins Louis Bell Louise Goffin Luke Laird Marc Shaiman Max Martin Michelle Lewis Mike Stoller Mozella Mutt Lange Neil Ormandy Nicolle Galyon Nolan Lambroza Oak Felder Oliver Heldens Richard Jay Alexander Rick Nowels Ricky Reed Rock Mafia Ross Copperman Rudy Perez Sam Hollander Sarah Aarons Sarah Hudson Savan Kotecha Shelly Peiken Simon Wilcox Skylar Grey Stargate Stephen Bray Steve Lashley Steve Solomon Steven Lashley Stuart Crichton The Edge The Heavyweights The Stereotypes Tim James Toby Gad Troy Verges Wally Gagel Walter Afanassief Wayne Kirkpatrick Xandy Berry Zach Crowell


Aaron Bay Schuck Aaron Rosenberg Adam Anders Alastair Lloyd Webber Amanda Berman Amanda Berman Andrew Gould Andrew Luftman Ben Mawson Ben Singer Brendan Okrent Connie Lim Dan Petel David Gray Dina LaPolt Ed Howard Ed Millet Jeff Jampol Jon Lind Justin Frazier Katie Vinten Kenny Aronoff Kristina Grossman Larry Wade Lou Taylor Maria Egan Rachel Kurstin Sheryl Louis Susan Genco


Modest Management Big Deal Music Milk And Honey Mega House Music Mgmt. Decible Entertainment

#PaulMcCartney #DonHenley #KatyPerry #SiriusXM #Boycott #attorneyDinaLaPolt #RossGolansongwriter #JoePerry

bottom of page